The SCAFP Board of Directors

The South Carolina Academy of Family Physicians is the state’s largest primary care medical specialty society. Family physicians are unique because they are trained and qualified to treat up to 90 percent of all conditions and care for all family members: men, women, the elderly, and children of all ages.

SCAFP Executive Officers


Keith Shealy, MD  Lancaster, SC

President – Elect

Morris Brown, MD  Lake City, SC

Vice President

Matthew Roehrs, MD. Williamston, SC

Secretary / Treasurer

Michael Bryant, MD  Ninety Six, SC

Immediate Past President & Board Chair

Patricia Bouknight, MD. Spartanburg, SC

SCAFP Board Directors &

District I

Alec DeCastro, MD Charleston, SC

District II

Claire Birdsong, MD Columbia, SC

District III

Michael Bernardo, MD Newberry, SC

District IV

Saria Saccocio, MD Simpsonville, SC

District V

Jerome Aya-ay MD Spartanburg, SC

District VI

William O'Quinn, MD Branchville, SC

District VII

J. Burton Banks, MD Myrtle Beach SC


Troy Gamble, MD Kingstree, SC

Focell Jackson Dozier, MD Timmonsville, SC

Samuel Stone, MD Chester, SC

SCAFP New Physician Board Member

Shannon Tiebought, DO Loris, SC

AAFP Delegates

T. Ed Evans, MD Seneca, SC

Hugh Durrence, R.Ph., MD  Charleston, SC

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Richard Boyles, MD Barnwell, SC

Patricia Wilson Witherspoon, MD  Columbia, SC

SCMA Delegate

Kenneth Becker, MD Fairplay, SC

SCMA Alternate Delegate

Griffin Cupstid, MD Spartanburg, SC

Resident Board Member

Abigail Harrison, DO Columbia, SC

Kenall McDill, MD Florence, SC

Student Board Members

Danni Hix Columbia, SC

Skye Jacobson Charleston, SC

Olivia Tardieu Spartanburg, SC

Kirsten Pesayanavin Taylors, SC




Get In Touch

Invalid Email


P.O. Box 312
Laurens, SC 29360

Phone: (864) 984-7237
In State: (800) 242-7237
Fax: (864) 984-5666